Scottish Historical Fiction

Witch Wood – John Buchan

The New Road – Neil Munro

The Men of the Moss-Hags
S. R. Crockett

PRICE £2.99
ISBN 9781910486023 (epub) 9781910486030 (mobi)
ePub Sample Kindle Sample Back to catalogue
Buy now from

The Scottish Historical Fiction bundle brings together the historical novels by three well known Scottish authors, John Buchan, Neil Munro and S.R. Crockett. Each novel is set during three different time periods and each offers a perspective into difficult periods of Scotland’s past.

Witch Wood  by John Buchan

John Buchan sets his classic novel against the backdrop of civil war and religious conflict of 17th century Scotland. Witch Wood tells the story of David Sempill, a young minister, who struggles when his sympathies with the Covenanters are tested by the brutal treatment of Montrose’s men as they are hunted and slaughtered. When black magic is discovered in Melanudrigill, David is caught between religious and pagan ideologies. This book was Buchan’s own favourite among his many novels.

The New Road  by Neil Munro

Neil Munro is best known for his comic character Para Handy, and The New Road is regarded as probably the best of his ‘serious’ novels. Set in the 1730s, the book’s title refers to General Wade’s military road. The main character, Aeneas Macmaster, journeys north to investigate the disappearance of his father 14 years earlier at the Battle of Glenshiel. There are some similarities with Stevenson’s Kidnapped and parallels can be drawn, especially with regards to the characters and setting.

The Men of the Moss-Hags  by S. R. Crockett

S. R. Crockett takes the persecution of the Covenanters as his theme in The Men of the Moss-Hags. Set in Galloway in the 17th century (‘The Killing Time’), he creates a thrilling adventure romance, with the action stretching from the moss-hags (the peat bogs of Galloway), to Edinburgh and Holland. This classic Scottish novel was the first to examine this period of history from the Covenanter’s perspective and is the first book in a two-part story (along with Lochinvar).
Author Biographies