Scottish Supernatural Classics

The Three Perils of Man – James Hogg

Thrawn Janet and Other Stories – R. L. Stevenson

Phantastes and Lilith – George MacDonald

PRICE £2.99
ISBN 9781910486061 (epub) 9781910486078 (mobi)
ePub Sample Kindle Sample Back to catalogue

Buy now from

Three tales of the supernatural combined into this one collection, this Scottish Supernatural Classics bundle will send a shiver down the spine.


The Three Perils of Man by James Hogg

Whilst initially appearing as a historical romance, James Hogg’s classic Scottish novel, The Three Perils of Man develops two main plots concerning the supernatural (at Aikwood Castle) and the chivalric (at Roxburgh Castle) and becomes a subtle mix of supernatural folk tale, historical novel, chivalric epic and comedy all underpinned with a clear description of traditional rural life.

Thrawn Janet and Other Stories  by R. L. Stevenson

A collection of R. L. Stevenson’s best horror stories, including Thrawn Janet and Jekyll and Hyde. In the title story, Reverend Murdoch Soulis is minister of Balweary. The women of the village are horrified when he decides to ask Janet McClour to be his housekeeper since they believe she is a witch. Janet is forced to publicly renounce the devil but the next day she is struck with a mysterious affliction that twists her neck to one side as if she had been hanged – hence the name Thrawn (Twisted) Janet. A tale of good versus evil that will chill the spine. The book is currently out of print.

Phantastes and Lilith  by George MacDonald

A two story collection from George MacDonald, including the story that brought his name to public attention. Phantastes is the story of a young man (Anodos) who is pulled into a dreamlike world and there hunts for his ideal of female beauty. He spends 21 days in this strange world and lives through many adventures and temptations. Lilith is considered one of the darkest of MacDonald’s works. The story covers the themes of life, death and salvation. It is currently out of print and this will be the first time the two stories have been published as an ebook.
Author Biographies