top of page

scottish adventure classics

John Burnet of Barns – John Buchan
Kidnapped – R. L. Stevenson
Sick Heart River – John Buchan

Three classic novels united by their spirit of adventure. The Scottish Adventure Classics bundle promises page-turning stories filled with exciting escapades and exploits.

​​​​​John Burnet of Barns by John Buchan

Buchan’s first full-length novel is set in the Scottish Borders in the ‘Killing Time’ of the 17th century. It tells the story of two young noblemen – John Burnet, heir to the house of Barns, the last in a long line of Border reivers and his cousin, Captain Gilbert Burnet, a ruthless soldier. The tale follows John Burnet’s quest to stop his cousin from seizing his land, title and true love. Their lifelong feud results in the ultimate betrayal and a desperate struggle to survive.

Kidnapped by R. L. Stevenson

This perennial classic has proved to be a favourite for generations of readers. Set in the aftermath of the Rebellion of 1745, this is the story of David Balfour, who is kidnapped and cheated out of his inheritance. Young David joins forces with a Jacobite adventurer, Alan Breck Stewart. Falsely accused of murder, they must flee across the Highlands. Stevenson writes with great awareness of the places and history, with many of the characters based on real people. As well as being a rollicking adventure, this is written with sensitivity to the political events described in the story.

Sick Heart River by John Buchan

Published posthumously in 1941, this is Buchan's most spiritual novel, dealing with themes of death and redemption. Sir Edward Leithen has a year to live and devotes his last months to finding a young banker who has gone missing in the Canadian wilderness whilst searching for the River of the Sick Heart. This is a beautifully written book with vivid descriptions of the wild Canadian landscape which adds to the drama of the story.

PRICE £2.99
ISBN 9781910486221 (epub) 9781910486238 (mobi)

available now from

back to eclassics

bottom of page