top of page

scottish forgotten authors

Marriage - Susan Ferrier
Gillespie - J. MacDougall Hay
Ringan Gilhaize - John Galt

PRICE £2.99
ISBN 9781910486009 (epub) 9781910486016 (mobi)

The Scottish Forgotten Authors collection brings together classic works by three authors who deserve wider readership.

Marriage by Susan Ferrier
Susan Ferrier’s first novel Marriage was written in 1810 and published anonymously in 1818. It combines Ferrier’s vivid description of Scottish life with humour and her strong views on female education and marriage. It recounts the tale of Lady Juliana who defies her father’s plans for marriage and elopes with the penniless Henry Douglas. Her twin daughters are raised separately in London and Scotland, and the story then follows one daughter, the sensible and patient Mary, through her journey to marry the man she loves. This is the first instance of Marriage being professionally published as an ebook.


Gillespie by J. MacDougall Hay
MacDougall Hay’s Gillespie is an intense literary novel that paints a grim picture of Calvinist Scotland. It was almost certainly an attempt to dispel the sentimental ‘Kailyard’ image that perpetuated the myth of a contented working class and benevolent landowners. Gillespie Strang is a ruthless entrepreneur prepared to go to any lengths in his pursuit of power and wealth amongst the 19th century fishing communities of the west coast of Scotland.


Ringan Gilhaize by John Galt

The story spans three generations to paint a picture of one of Scotland’s most turbulent periods. The tale is told by Ringan Gilhaize, a Covenanter and grandson of Michael Gilhaize, who lived through the Reformation. Set against a backdrop of political and religious conflict that ultimately leads to the battle of Killiecrankie, the novel deals with themes of loyalty, violence and justice.

'Forgotten no more, not by me anyway! It was a joy to read these novels in all their Scottish diversity . . . my literary education has been enhanced by the experience' – 4* Amazon review

available now from

back to eclassics

bottom of page